Email Address
Phone Number

Spam Protection

Please enter the code in the box into the text field.

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

10th SAARC Golf Championship

10th SAARC Golf Championship – A Camaraderie kept alive!
November 2011
Jaipur, India

The 10th SAARC Golf Championship 2011 concluded recently with flying colours for all the SAARC nations. It was win-win for all of the 7 countries. This championship is the region’s premier annual international amateur team event conceived to promote harmony and co-operation through sports in the SAARC region. This year it took place at the Rambagh Golf Course, Jaipur and saw active participation from the national amateur golf teams of Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka. The tournament was organized by Pash India, a division of Le Passage to India, and was supported by the Ministry of Tourism, Rajasthan.

India has won the tournament on the 3rd play-off hole after Angad Cheema (IND) won match 1 (4 &3), Md. Nazim (BAN) won match 2 (2&1) and match 3 was halved between Md. Dulal Hossain (BAN) & Simarjeet Singh (IND).

The event started on 25th November and was inaugurated by Mrs. Usha Sharma, Principal Secretary & Commissioner Rajasthan Tourism and Mr. Virendra Benival, Rajasthan Govt. Chief Whip. The day started with a healthy practice session by the SAARC teams and Bangladesh golfers were favourites to win the tournament after Md. Nazim finished the first day with a -3 round. Indian Team was placed 2nd with a total best score of +2.

Towards the end of Round 2, Bangladesh were still in a commanding position, with the teams from India and Sri Lanka struggling to get into the final Matchplay spot against the leaders. Eventually India qualified for the final round.

The final round on 26th Nov was a tense affair. Angad Cheema's smashing Matchplay round of 4 & 3 would have seen India coasting to a win. But it was not to be with Md. Nazim of Bangladesh winning 2&1 against Siddharth Semwal.

All eyes were on the 3rd Match between Md. Dulal Hossain (BAN) and Simarjeet Singh (IND). Going up to the 18th Tee, Hossain was 1 UP and in a position to win the tournament for Bangladesh. He bogeyed the hole to let India have a chance with the play-off. India's Angad Cheema won the 3rd play-off hole against Md. Dulal Hossain of Bangladesh when he managed to make a par-putt and his opponent bogeyed the hole. Thus the overall tournament was won by the Indian Team, and Bangladesh won the Runner’s up trophy. The Manager’s trophy went to Mr. Ugyen Dorji (Bhutan) and Md. Nazim (Bangladesh) got the Best Gross.

LEADERBOARD(Click here to see the tournament scores)


The championship was followed by a corporate golf day titled the “SAARC Friendship CUP” and witnessed active participation of VIPs, senior corporate executives and Government heads who play alongside the national amateur teams. This event teed off on 27th Nov, the final day of the main championship, thus also giving the players a second practice round and the invitees to play with the SAARC Teams and their respective Captains / Managers. Truly a treat for all the golfers and an interesting affair!

SAARC Friendship Cup was won by the Dr. Ajit Rana, followed by Pawan Chaudhary as the runner-up. 
A Division of
Member Of